I really had no idea how to be a disabled person. I’ve had to learn on the job so to speak. David and I were just making it up as we went along. That was probably not the best way to go about it in retrospect, but being self-sufficient individuals, that’s how it went. People still say to me, “you live alone?!” They can’t believe it. After my last vascular procedure in Brooklyn, Dr. Sclafani told me in recovery that he couldn’t believe I lived alone and that he had told his wife about me. He was the one who said to me the first time he saw me, “you are frail, but tough.”  That was before my last trip to India, which I have not written about yet, when I was almost totally unable to breathe. I never thought of myself as frail, until that moment. I e-mailed him a picture of me on the elephant.

Unfortunately, his procedure didn’t help stop the progression as we had hoped. That is like almost everything else I had done. I believe in turning over every stone and if it feels right to do it. Hearing about the MS pharmaceuticals early in the disease process made absolutely no sense to me. Suppressing my immune system to lessen the symptoms to me was like the engine light coming on in your car and disconnecting the fuse. I wanted to know why my immune system was going haywire. I wanted to help my body, which was struggling at the time. I didn’t want to give it expensive pharmaceuticals that were most often used for prostate cancer or hepatitis C. I didn’t care that it would be covered by my insurance. And now, studies of those same pharmaceuticals are showing a reduction of relapses and gray matter in the brain, but no lessening of the progression of the disease whatsoever. Other pharmaceuticals, developed since then and having shown great promise, have been causing brain infections and worse.

The medical community is still very far from understanding the  etiology of multiple sclerosis. There are segments of the medical community that understand lifestyle choices have a lot to do with how illnesses develop. There is a doctor in Iowa who was extremely disabled and, in her research, found that the mitochondria of her cells were dying. She developed an approach using supplements and a Paleolithic diet to support them. Her initial research study involved nine people and seven of the nine improved greatly in the area of fatigue. She used neuromuscular stimulation to increase muscle strength. I was on her program for much of the last two years with no improvement. I remain on her program because I feel it is the most loving thing to do for my mitochondria. Opportunistic infections are other serious stressors on the immune system. I’m exploring food sensitivities at the moment, but frankly, I’m running out of time.

What provided the most improvement was my adventure in India with embryonic stem cells. Separate blog entries have described, or will describe, my India experiences.

Everybody has an opinion about what I should or should not have done, and I know that that is because that everybody cares. Nobody has more opinions about it than I do. At the end of the day, I believe that we get exactly what we need for our ascension and everything that we need can change in a moment along with our karma.

