“One world is dying, and another is being born. Let us attend to both with compassion.” Marianne WilliamsonDan-and-Terri-in-MauiSMALL

Terri Daniel became a friend in 2011 after I read her fascinating journey with her son Daniel. At ten, Daniel was diagnosed with a rare neurological illness, much like ALS. Terri was his primary caregiver for the remaining six years of his life. For the last two Daniel could not speak. Terri learned to communicate with Daniel telepathically, so that after he transitioned at sixteen, the communication resumed and they have now written three books together.

Their first book, Swan In Heaven affirmed a revolution in me that was well underway, internally. Daniel disseminated profound teachings, one of which has informed much of my understanding of my process of late. Daniel described a “mirror image” process, where when one dies and their breathing diminishes, on the other side the diminished breath manifests as light. So as the breath from the human body dissipates, the light gets stronger in Spirit, “until the last breath closes one door and opens the other.” I have realized that as my functioning decreases in this denser form, my Light is increasing in function and Beingness. For me, the apt metaphor is one of being birthed. The only experience I can compare this to what is watching a filly being born on our horse farm in Louisiana. With each contraction, the filly was more a part of our realm.

My respiration is greatly diminished, but my Spirit is getting stronger every day. The home health nurse is always astonished at the shallowness of my breath. Also, living at 8000 feet altitude diminishes my breath even further. The introduction of any errant bug can be the catalyst for my transition at any moment. Living on the edge has its challenges and its rewards. The more I reflect on the latter, the more regenerative and joyful my life is.

Moving toward one’s end-of-life can be traversed abruptly or slowly. Some people believe how one proceeds is predetermined prior to incarnating. How free will can interplay with this predetermination can alter the trajectory. We are just beginning to understand what can be called the last frontier.

Exploring my feelings surrounding this transition can bring varying degrees of fear and panic, until I realize everybody does it. We are all birthed into this physical existence, like the filly and we are all birthed out. They are the most natural processes. If you believe in reincarnation, which I do, I have probably done it hundreds, maybe thousands of times. Amnesia, chosen on a soul level, makes it seem new every time, allowing the teachings to be integrated on a deep level.

Thinking about who and what I am leaving brings tremendous grief in the limited knowing sphere. I completely believe that we really don’t go anywhere, we just vibrate at a higher frequency, making it harder to perceive. I told my children they will just have to learn to listen better. Terri learned to listen to Danny better. Imagining where I am going, seems adventurous. I have had a vision from long ago of an amphitheater on an ocean that feels familiar. I know this is a sacred place beyond this frequency. I just know it. I have always felt there will be a great celebration when I cross over and there will be much support, as I will continue to be a support for my loved ones, family and friends.

When I remember to focus on my destination, I become joyful. I am thankful for the sacred trailblazers who are compassionate enough to show us the Way.
