“Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world; indeed, it’s the only thing that ever has.” -Margaret Mead

Vector illustration of a man in jailI watched a powerful documentary titled Serving Life, narrated by Forest Whitaker. It was filmed in Angola prison, one of the most violent prisons in the US. The Warden decreased the violence by 70% by infusing humanity into convicted murderers and sex offenders. He instituted a hospice program where the felons, acting as surrogate families, took care of each other through their final passage. Their lives were no longer focused on the life they took, but the life they served making his transition.

The closest I got to Angola penitentiary was hiking outside the prison. I have always had a difficult time being in the dense, impacted energy of prisons. I had a student intern who was placed at a local prison. My denial regarding sociopathic personality disorders rendered me vulnerable to their manipulation; prisons were not safe to my psyche. My student introduced me to interesting personalities within that particular system. One such sociopath would wait for a person to walk by his prison cell and ejaculate through the keyhole. His aim was impeccable and a message was clearly delivered. I was out of my element within the prison walls.

It would be a few years before I became initiated to finally accept the intransigence of the sociopathic personality disorder. This excruciating process was described in a previous blog entry titled Dancing With the Devil.

My first male psychotherapist named Ken had spent many years in a maximum security prison until he had systematically taken down the internal walls around his heart and the prison system could not spit him out fast enough. A certain energetic frequency needs to be maintained internally, in order for the external walls to be maintained. Once his vibration raised, his environment needed to change to attain a new equilibrium. It is merely physics.

We create self-imposed prisons based on our internal beliefs and thoughts, which is what determines our energetic frequencies. As we clear the clutter around our minds and hearts, liberation is achieved. From what I have read, which resonates through my Being, we will merge into Unity once we all heal and evolve. The ramifications of this Truth are profound, if we can grasp the reality as our own. It means we all need to help each other. No one can be left behind.

The ones who have lost their way and exhibited predatory behavior are also included in this Whole. When I see the work being done in Angola, the “bloodiest prison in America,”  I can see, without equivocation, that this is possible.
