Joy is the happiness that doesn’t depend on what happens. – Brother David Steindl-Rast

If I’ve learned anything from this “terminal” illness, I’ve learned I cannot get sucked into the vortex of my fears. When I was diagnosed, my partner said, “I guess we have an adventure ahead of us.” We have an adventure ahead of us.

There is an expression, “We are only as happy as our saddest child.” We have not been seeing the level of grief on the planet.” Now, those who choose to see and have the capacity, can begin the work of holding and releasing this grief together. Not a small assignment for a grief illiterate culture. We are up to it. I have no doubt, or it would not be in front of us. Here is balm for our souls. We must grieve and grieve welL

Now it is time to have faith. Gridlock and obstruction would have continued and accelerated. We will see the wisdom in retrospect. Trust me. Trust all that is, ever has been, and ever will be.

This is a loving universe. We cannot understand these circumstances with our heads. Our hearts need to lead now. But first, we must grieve and grieve well, for ourselves, our children, our ancestors, as they grieve with us.We must grieve for the disenfranchised. We have not been listening. We must grieve for the disenfranchised parts of ourselves. Grieve fully and we will know the next step toward LOVE.

